Thomas County Board of Education Minutes Called Meeting/Workshop Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Attendees - voting members

Ms. Nancy Hiers	Chair
Mr. Derwood Hickey	Vice Chair
Mr. David Dawson	Board Member
Mr. Charles Evans	Board Member
Mr. Mark NeSmith	Board Member
Mr. Dan Stewart	Board Member
Mrs. Kay P. Streets	Board Member
<u> Attendees - other</u>	
Dr. George H. Kornegay	Superintendent
Mrs. Carol Gerald	Administrative Assistant
Mr. John Hebron	Facilities Director
Mr. Joey Holland	Assistant Superintendent for Finance & Operations
Dr. Lisa Williams	Associate Superintendent

I. Call to Order

Chairwoman Hires called the meeting to order at 7:03 p.m.

II. Consent agenda

- A. Agenda
- B. Fundraising requests
 C. Out-of-district students
 <u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Derwood Hickey
 <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. David Dawson
 <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved

III. Superintendent's report

- A. Report on middle school softball/baseball field project John Hebron
- B. Coaching appointments for 2017-2018
- C. Called board meeting (if necessary), breakfast, and tour of schools, Cross Creek Elementary School, Tuesday, August 1: meeting at 8:00 (if necessary); breakfast at 8:30; tour at 9:15

IV. New business

A. Change order to add grading of baseball field to softball project

Motion to build the middle school baseball field and use the funds from the sale of Magnolia School Property for costs beyond current ESPLOST allocation. <u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Mark NeSmith <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Charles Evans <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved

B. Tentative millage rate

<u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Mark NeSmith <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Charles Evans <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved

C. Resolution granting authority for School Nutrition Department and it's director to administer CACFP

<u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Charles Evans <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mrs. Kay P. Streets <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved

D. Personnel report including superintendent appointment

<u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Charles Evans <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Mark NeSmith <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved

V. Adjournment

<u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Charles Evans <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Dan Stewart <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved

Chairperson

Secretary